Fishing is a common pastime in Idaho. The Gem State is brimming with fantastic fishing opportunities. There are numerous lakes, rivers and streams. However, before you throw a line into the sea, make sure you are familiar with the rules and have the required licenses.
Are you prepared to go fishing and need to obtain an Idaho fishing license? We’d like to talk about the requirements for getting a fishing license Idaho and the most common fishing violations and the penalties for fishing there.
If you want to check whether someone is legally allowed to fish in Idaho, you can use an Idaho Fishing License lookup. Learn some basics about what it takes to get a fishing license in Idaho before using this tool. This can help you if you want to fish in the state of Idaho legally.
Adult licenses for residents cost $30.50, and junior licenses cost $13.75. Regardless of when they are purchased, licenses are valid from January 1 to December 31 every year. The cost of a daily license is $13.50.
Yes, indeed you can buy an Idaho fishing license online. A company called GreatLodge.com has a contract to sell licenses and tags online. You can find it on the Fish and Game website, under the hunting or fishing license menus.
If you need an Idaho fishing license, you can get one from the Idaho Department of Fish and Game quickly and conveniently online. A fishing license can also be obtained from a retailer or from an Idaho Department of Fish and Game regional office.
Non Resident Fishing License Fees
|Fishing – Adult 1 Year||$98.25|
|Fishing – Adult 3 Year||$291.25|
|Fishing – Daily (first day)||$15.00 and $7.00 for each consecutive day|
|Fishing – Junior (14-17 yrs.)||$21.75|
|Fishing – Junior (14-17 yrs.) – 3 Year||$61.75|
|Salmon/Steelhead – 3 Day||$37.50|
|Combination Fishing and Hunting – 1 Year||$240.00|
|Combination Fishing and Hunting – 3 Year||$715.50|
|Fishing Two-Pole Permit||$15.50|
It’s also worth noting that, beginning in May 2017, a new $10.00 Access/Depredation Management fee will be charged when purchasing an adult annual Idaho out of state fishing license, with the fee for a 3-year license being doubled.
Annual hunting licenses for Idaho adults are $15.75 and fishing licenses cost $30.50.
You’ll need a license to hunt and fish in Idaho, and you may even need a tag or permit.
Resident Fishing License Fees
|Fishing – Adult 1 Year||$30.50||$25.75|
|Fishing – Adult 3 Year||$73.75||$30.50|
|Fishing – Daily||$13.50||$11.50|
|Fishing – Junior (14-17 yrs.)||$13.75||$13.75|
|Fishing – Junior (14-17 yrs.) – 3 Year||$37.75||$13.50|
|Military – Fishing (Residents only)||$20.50||$17.50|
|Fishing – Disabled Persons||$5.75||$5.00|
|Salmon or Steelhead||$15.25||$12.75|
|Fishing – Two-pole||$15.00||$13.75|
|Combination – Adult Fishing and Hunting – 1 Year||$38.75||$33.50|
|Combination – Adult Hunting and Fishing – 3 Year||$ 97.00||$ 97.00|
|Combination – Senior Hunting and Fishing (65+ yrs)||$ 13.75||$ 11.75|
|Combination – Senior Hunting and Fishing (65+ yrs) – 3 Year||$ 33.50||$ 31.75|
If you plead guilty or are convicted of fishing without a license, you could face a fine of up to $1,000 plus court expenses, up to 6 months in prison, and your fishing license rights being suspended for up to three years, according to Idaho Code 36-1402.
Anyone 14 years of age or older must have a valid fishing license to fish in Idaho. Anglers under the age of 14 are not required to have a license, although there is a distinction between resident and nonresident youth. A resident child under the age of 14 has their own fishing limit.
A nonresident child under the age of 14 must be accompanied by someone who has a valid fishing license, and their catch is included in the license holders fishing limit. A nonresident child, on the other hand, may buy his own license and set his own limit.
Some activities include special fishing licenses, which are required for both residents and non-residents:
If you want to go hunting and fishing in the same season, you should consider buying a combination license to save money.
It’s important to know and follow the laws and regulations. This information is available on the Idaho Department of Fish and Game’s website.
It’s also worth noting that if you catch a sturgeon, it must be released immediately upon landing and can’t be removed from the water.
Even if you have a fishing license, you may receive a citation if you catch a banned species of fish in Idaho and do not release it back into the sea. Sturgeon, Chinook salmon, wild steelhead, and bull trout are among these species in Idaho.
Catching an illegal fish will result in the same penalties as fishing without a license. It is a misdemeanor, and you could be required to pay a fine, spend time in prison, and/or get your fishing license revoked for up to three years.
The only difference is that if you catch Chinook salmon, wild steelhead, or bull trout, your fine will be $100 to $1,000, while if you catch a sturgeon your fine will be $200 to $1,000.
Furthermore, unlike the citation for fishing without a license, it makes no difference if you were aware that catching the fish was illegal. This offense can be prosecuted if you catch and plan to hold a prohibited fish.
When making our license search tool, we tried to sum up everything you need to know to arrange the whole procedure of your fishing license.
Adults, children, and seniors are all eligible for lifetime licenses in Idaho.
|Life Time Combination||$1113.00|
|Life Time Combination||$795.50|
|Life Time Combination||$636.75|
The applicant must have resided in Idaho for at least 6 months prior to applying for a license.
The cost of a daily license is $13.50.